A Realization and A Decision

August 13, 2009 at 3:36 pm 1 comment

Around the time that BlogHer was in town, I attended a Social Media Club Chicago event.I was super excited to see what the group was all about and truly interested in what the panel of women bloggers had to say. They told the audience about their experiences blogging and lessons learned. Their words resonate in my head. They said to blog about a subject that no one else is blogging about right now. That’s easy and straight forward. A smart, sophisticated panel was advocating originality.

As a communications professional, I started my humble, little blog with the intention of creating great conversations about public relations and its impact on everyday life. Sounds simple enough, but there’s one catch – everyone is doing it. Leah Jones told me, “Don’t blog about PR. Everyone is blogging about that.” So true. There is no way to make an impact when everyone is talking about the same thing.

So I tried to write about travel experiences in the city. I wanted to spread the word about all the cool stuff that city dwellers and tourists alike should check out to get the authentic Chicago experience. I even tried proclaiming that there were going to be installments. I can’t even motivate myself to write about it. Here’s how the grand plan is going thus far: Day 1 written and posted (It sounds a bit like an advertisement, but I think that was because I was excited about the subject); Day 2 is still in the drafting stage.

Right now, I don’t possess the power to crank out a post because I feel that I have nothing of importance to say to the blogosphere. Sure, come talk to me in person any day of the week and we can have an in-depth conversation about nothing. But here it’s different. This space is my forum and I feel like I have nothing of worth to say. This is an issue. And I am working on remedying the situation.

I am a 20-something recent graduate on a job-hunting safari. I want this space to chronicle my personal growth and experiences as I find myself in the midst of everything. BOLD moves reflects my exploration, not the great  innovations and big blunders undertaken by Fortune 500 companies.

My first BOLD move in recent history was moving to Chicago. I love the city that I will soon be leaving and one day hope to return. But without a solid support system in the city I will most definitely turn into an icicle this coming winter. I am proactively seeking out my next BOLD move as I progress toward starting my first “real” job. I hope you enjoy my experiences as I follow my dreams.

Cheers, G

Entry filed under: Gwynne. Tags: , , .

Monday Summer Fun in Chicago – DAY 1 Top Chicago Must-See List

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. atleahjones  |  August 13, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Hey Gwynne,

    It’s okay to try lots of different topics while you find the right one – and your experience looking for the next BOLD move might be the thing to write about.

    Just last night I saw a tweet that said “Write when inspired, sleep when tired.” If something inspires you, write about it. Soon you’ll find your calling.

    All the best in your job hunt,
    Leah

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Connect With Me

Twitter Updates

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

BOLD moves on the go:

Add BOLD moves Mippin widget

